Rachel’s Road to New Jersey- Part I

559360_4453261128389_534581804_n

Have you ever felt completely content but at the same time ready for a change?

It’s hard to explain, but that’s how I felt right before we moved here.

My baby girl was six months old.  I’d gone back to work four months after she arrived to a job I really enjoyed– even though my heart wanted to be home with her full time.  Even so, David and I had arranged child care that we were thrilled with and he no longer had overnight travel with his job.  Adjusting to this new little person, returning to work and getting my hubby home during the week was all falling into place.  We even started a new community group at church and had renovated a bathroom.  Livin’ the dream. 🙂

It was the oddest feeling to be totally happy and content in our circumstances but ready and willing to uproot it all at the same time.

74262_10200107697593944_597726615_n

Packing up our home in Oregon was bittersweet!

In a moment your life can change. I try to remember that when I get stuck in a rut. In a blink of an eye, the world as you know it can spin into something that barely resembles itself. That’s what happened to us at least.  One day we were picking the last of September’s sweet blackberries in Oregon and the next hurricane Sandy and storm Nemo were crouched out our door.  Within a matter of weeks my man had heard about a job, flown out for an interview, accepted the position and we’d sold our house.  I quit my job.  Pretty soon Krista was driving us to the airport and I was bawling my eyes out.  Even though I was ready for this, it was hard.  I didn’t know anyone in New Jersey!  Everything was so expensive out there!

But God was demonstrating his hand in everything.  When the entire thing didn’t make sense, there He was, leading the way.

Little by little, he was giving me my daily bread.  I remember so clearly wanting more; just as the Israelites grumbled over their manna in the desert– contentment deserting them as they yearned for meat– I was dying to know how things were going to sort themselves out.

How would our house sell?

Where would we live?

Could we afford for me to stay home with our baby girl out there?  The cost of living was so intense!

Where would we go to church?

What would people be like?  Would we make new friends easily?

Now that I’ve been here for five months (wow, has it been that long?!), I can clearly see how He worked out each detail with precision.

Joshua set up 12 stones to serve as a sign of remembrance of how God led them through the Jordan river (Joshua 4:20-24).  Samuel set up an Ebenezer rock to remind the Israelites how God helped and delivered them from the Philistines (1 Samuel 7:12-13).  And me– I have my own theoretical stones and Ebenezer rocks to remind myself of how God brought us here.

Next week I’ll share some of my own ‘stones’ and ‘rocks’. 🙂  Thanks for reading!

Rachel Signature

4 thoughts on “Rachel’s Road to New Jersey- Part I

Share Your Thoughts

