Where You Water It

20130512I’ve spent the last week in my hometown, in California.  We partied all weekend; family, food and friends day after day.  I probably gained five pounds. 🙂  I met my sister’s boyfriend for the first time, spent time with my brother and his lovely wife, went on a grandpa date with my dad and Maya, and celebrated my father-in-law’s birthday along with lots of other fun get-togethers and just plain ole hanging around the house family time.  The weather was perfect.  I even felt a little sweat coming on as we were out on a walk!  I wore shorts and skirts and sandals and oh my– tank tops!!!  It’s been a trip that’s refreshed my soul.

It’s been such a good trip, actually, that I’ve begun to wish.

Yes, I know, you know what I’m about to say.  It seems so premature being that we’ve been in New Jersey for only five months and aren’t even fully established there yet, but I can’t help but wish.  I can’t help but look at this small patch of California grass and think how much greener it is than our New Jersey front yard.

And then I read this.  She’s soooooo right.  The grass truly is greener where you water it.

It’s okay to miss family.  It’s okay to miss friends.  It’s okay to miss sunshine, the beach, old restaurant spots and walking trails.  These are all good things.  But we can’t lose sight of where we are now and miss out on the present.  It does me no good to wish, really.

It might seem like there’s always something better, somewhere more beautiful, or some house more functioning… and it’s true. There always will be. We’ll never be content on this earth until we’re grateful for where we are now. And when we finally are, it’s surprisingly enough. ~Tsh, SimpleMom.net

The fact of the matter is I’m in a transition period right now.  It’s easy to look at the grass and think it’s greener in California when I’m still a bit of a fish out of water in my new digs in New Jersey.  But then I remember the stones that God’s piled up for me and realize it’s for Him, by Him and because of Him that New Jersey is our new home.  I just need to water the grass.

So as I get on a plane this afternoon to return to my real home, I’m looking to be intentional about watering our New Jersey grass.  Because it’s true.  The grass really isn’t greener on the other side, it’s greener where you water it. 🙂

Rachel Signature

6 thoughts on “Where You Water It

  1. I loved this! When you told me you were writing about this specifically I knew that first and foremost, I needed to be reminded of this the most! I need to be intentional about watering my grass ..and quite possibly to stop complaining that it doesn’t look and feel the way I want:)

  2. We can all learn a lesson from this and try to be content with what we have right now. There is so much to celebrate and sometimes we miss it when it’s right under our nose. Who knows why God has put us in the places we are in, but we can be sure its for His purpose! Thank you Rachel for reminding us!!

  3. Hi Rachel, we have never met, but I heard many awesome things about you from Krista during life group in Camas. I just wanted to thank you for writing this… You have no idea how this has helped me. Seriously. I moved to Vancouver WA 9mo ago from San Diego and on my way back from vacation in SD in April, I literally had a melt down. I wanted OUT of the NW and wanted the sun and my friends and familiarity of SD. I was miserable here for weeks… Until I read this blog. Thank you thank you thank you. While I still miss my friends and not having to use a GPS to get, well, anywhere, I’m more focused on making sure I fully embrace this experience. And it makes me feel good to know that others are going through the ups and downs of a new life along with me. Thank you 🙂

    • Hi Samantha! Thank YOU for sharing your kind words and letting me know I’m not a complete looney for feeling this way either! 🙂 It’s so hard to get used to a completely new life in a new place… I am still figuring out how to make it work here. Moving to the Pacific Northwest was so hard for me in the beginning, being a SoCal girl, but I grew to love it so much! I hope one day I can say that about NJ too. 🙂 thanks again for your sweet words of encouragement. It’s so fun to know we have others on a similar journey that we can share the experiences with!

  4. Pingback: I’m here… Now what? | Urban Hallelujah

Share Your Thoughts

