NJ Home Tour & 2-Step STUFF Recovery Process

Just another day driving around New Jersey...

Just another day driving around New Jersey…

There are a million things that drive me NUTS about New Jersey.  8 miles per hour on a Thursday morning at 10:30 a.m.?!

I guess they call it the most densely populated state for a reason.

But today let me just show you around one of the things I LOVE about this state…

Our home!

***I did not clean before taking pictures, so this is the real deal.***

The house is about 100 years old.  It’s been added on to, the floors creak and are uneven, but it has charm.  And curb appeal!

Welcome to New Jersey!

Welcome to New Jersey!

It is a crazy cool blessing to be able to live here, and we probably will only live here for another six months or so.  While we are still here, though, we enjoy it every day!  I especially love the porch.  We actually use it!

Wine tastes really good on this porch!

Wine tastes really good on this porch!

One of my favorite things is the red door!

06042013 Door

Come on inside! It’s old but darling 🙂

The cream couch is where I spend each morning with my cup of coffee.  I watch too many re-runs of Sex and the City and the Kardashians while folding laundry during Maya’s nap in this room too.  Do you think less of me now?!

We spend most of our time in this room :)

We spend most of our time in this room 🙂

Just adjacent to the living room is the dining room.  We rarely use it except for when people are over, but it’s a nice big room that holds a lot of people!

06042013 Space1

The kitchen is where David sets up his laptop, where we eat most our meals, and experiment with new recipes!  I discovered the most amazing bruschetta pasta salad dish in this kitchen.

Fresh herbs on the windowsill... Divine!

Fresh herbs on the windowsill… Divine!

Maya loves looking out the window when she’s in her highchair getting her grub on.

And to think I almost got rid of this little table...  We use it every day!

And to think I almost got rid of this little table… We use it every day!

Speaking of outside, I love this backyard.  It’s just so much fun.  Except when deer are in it.  Then we stay inside.  I’m totally SERIOUS here!!!  Just today I saw one behind the white picket fence.

picnics, play time and fresh air all outside the back door!

picnics, play time and fresh air all outside the back door!

Now let’s head upstairs.

These stairs creak like nobody's business, but it's part of the character of the house (or so I keep telling myself).

These stairs creak like nobody’s business, but it’s part of the character of the house (or so I keep telling myself).

This is our room.  It has two very small closets.  Hallelujah that it has two!

We meant to hang that mirror, but never got around to it.  It's still in the same place the movers left it with foam around the corners :)

We meant to hang that mirror, but never got around to it. It’s still in the same place the movers left it with foam around the corners 🙂

Because of the limited closet space in the master, we use this room (no idea what it is supposed to be?!) as a nice, big walk-in closet.  Oh boy do we have purging to do 🙂

more stuff... ah geez

more stuff… ah geez

Here’s where my girl sleeps and plays and gets into all kinds of mischief.  The bunk-beds were left by our landlord, and because I have so much extra stuff around I found two matching duvets!  Never mind that they’re meant for full/queen size beds…

We are obsessed with our little girl :)

We are obsessed with our little girl 🙂

Here’s the guest room.  Come visit!

Ready for all our visitors this summer!

Ready for all our visitors this summer!

We have one bathroom with a shower/tub and a couple other bathrooms with just toilets, but I’ll spare you from taking a photo.  Moving on to the third floor…  The floor we never use except to house all our STUFF (other than the closet room).  There are three rooms on the third floor.  The first would make a great playroom if we were to stay here longer.  It also serves as another guest room with the futon and simply houses unused home goods.

Gia takes her nap in this room when Krista's over!

Gia takes her nap in this room when Krista’s over!

And this room has great natural light.  I’m craigslist-ing the couch as we speak!

06042013 couch room

The couch does not come with the baby. Sold separately. LOL!

The last room in the house is the room that all our junk is in.  You remember this one, right?

Yard sale here we come...

Yard sale here we come…

Not even a block up the street is this fabulous little downtown area with shops and restaurants.  I can walk to the grocery store and the hair salon!  There’s a huge park a couple blocks away as well where Maya had her first swinging experience. 🙂

The street was PACKED during the memorial day parade!

The street was PACKED during the memorial day parade!

Welcome to our home and thanks for taking a tour with me.  I’m so grateful for this house and our landlords for letting us rent it from them.  They are selling it in about six months, so if you want to buy it, come on out here!

Speaking of them selling the house, that means we will be looking for a new place to live.  Most likely, it won’t have six bedrooms and a closet room.  It will probably be some kind of duplex or apartment, with minimal storage.  Because of my hoarder-like tendencies and the probability of not being able to breathe in a new home without getting rid of TONS OF STUFF, I’m enlisting my mom to help me with a yard sale in a few weeks when she’s out to visit.  Thanks mom!

And so this is my mantra… My new two-step STUFF recovery process from collecting items and never wanting to let them go:

Purpose + Place = SPACE

(Thank you Krista for modeling this for me!)

As our yard sale gets closer, I’ll elaborate a little more on what this means to me.  Let me just say it isn’t going to be easy.  I come from a long line of stuff-a-holics and while I’m joking about all the hoarding, I really do keep too much.

How do you organize your stuff?  What does it look like for you?  Thanks for taking a tour of our home, for bearing with my clutter, and for reading. 🙂

By wisdom a house is built, and through understanding it is established;

through knowledge its rooms are filled with rare and beautiful treasures.

~Proverbs 24:3-4

Rachel Signature

4 thoughts on “NJ Home Tour & 2-Step STUFF Recovery Process

  1. Those pictures of your gorgeous house are just proof that we live in two totally different worlds don’t u think? So close but so far away! I say we go ‘freaky Friday’ and switch lives for a hot second! That sounds divine. Hmmm… Sounds like I need to go read your ‘the grass is greener’ post for the billionth time! 🙂 lol

Share Your Thoughts

