All Things

One of our favorite nearby parks.

One of our favorite nearby parks.

The past couple of weeks have been odd.

We had a difficult conversation with someone we love very much.  There were tears and emotions were high, as passions and convictions collided.  The very next day, the same conversation with a different person.  Oh Lord why can’t we just smile and nod?!  Why must we talk about the uncomfortable?

A week later, sobering news about someone we love dearly.  The same day, shocking news about another loved one.  And then the news that’s not really news at all– unchanging conditions of yet another deeply loved one who’s sick.  We wait.  We pray.

06272013 collageThere were joys, though, too.  Pizza from one of the area’s most renowned pizzerias.  A visit from Grandma and Bev!  Weather that calls for a crisp, cold glass of chardonnay.  Summer salads.  Cold water.  Date night (albeit at home) with my man.  A sermon that lifts up my husband who’s had a weary couple days.  Dinner with new friends!  Walks around the park.  Life group with new friends who edify and sincerely ask and pray and share food and genuinely welcome.  06272013 pizzaThe best chocolate chip cookies I’ve ever tasted (I promise, I will give you the recipe.  Soon.  I feel like I’m holding out on the world by hoarding this recipe to myself.  It is literally the best recipe on earth!).  And finally… My mama comes to visit today!  Hallelujah!

A girl always needs her mama!

A girl always needs her mama!

How can we reconcile the sobering news and difficult conversations with the beauty of summer’s bounty, new friends, and the sweetness of chocolate chip cookies? 🙂  It would seem every fiber in my being would say evil is at work in the bad, and God is at work in the good.  Perhaps it is that way.  Or maybe I have yet to fully understand.

Your laws endure to this day, for all things serve you. ~Psalm 119:91

All things serve Him.

All things.

Everything!

Isn’t this what Urban Hallelujah is all about?!  All things serve Him.  All the time.  Every day.  In every circumstance.  For His glory, His purpose, His praise.  The good and the bad, the ugly and the beautiful– all of it transcends us and can reveal Him.

A breakup can birth new life.

A difficult conversation can cultivate truth.

Surprising news can breed a multitude of blessings.

Sober news can open hearts.

Family visits, warm friendships and yummy food can build  a spirit of thanksgiving.

Great is the Lord and most worthy of praise; his greatness no one can fathom. ~Psalm 145:3

I cannot fathom His greatness.  I have yet to understand!  I must hold fast to the truth that all things serve Him.  Even the unthinkable can bring Him glory.  His greatness is beyond my comprehension, but I can know with certainty because his word declares that all. things. serve. HIM.  For greatness that no one can fathom here on earth, but for greatness nonetheless.

Holding fast to these truths this morning.  Thanks for reading!

***The following song has ministered to my heart recently.  I hope it speaks to you too!

Rachel Signature

2 thoughts on “All Things

Share Your Thoughts

