The Best Triple C

07042013 Triple C

I know, I know.

This is not a food blog.

BUT it is a blog about finding joy in everything, and my goodness…   I have found many a hallelujah in these delectable cookies.  Oooey and goooooey and soft and chewy…  Every single time I make them I am asked for the recipe.  Every. Time.  I’m not exaggerating.  They’re that good.

And since I’m spending the day with family, and my mama’s in town visiting and today’s a holiday anyway, I thought I would share with y’all the BEST triple C (chocolate chip cookie) recipe I have ever tasted in my 31 years!

I got this recipe from my other mama, my MIL.  She would make these for David when he was a kid, and the whole family would devour them.  Now that I’ve found it, I never stray from this recipe.  Who needs another recipe when you have the best one?! 🙂  I know it’s hot outside, I know the oven heats the whole house (at least it heats my whole house and this house is huge!) and I know it’s easier to buy a dozen from the local bakery, but you won’t be sorry if you try these out.  They’re super easy and delicious.  Did I mention they’re delicious?!  Delicious I tell ya!  They might define the word actually.

The key is to not over-mix the batter.  You’ll get these little mounds rather than flat cookies that burst with chocolaty goodness and melt in your mouth.  ENJOY!!!!

Ingredients:

3/4 c. butter, softened

1 c. brown sugar

1/4 c. white sugar

1 large egg

1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract (use good quality- true extract rather than imitation flavor!  It makes a difference!)

2 c. flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt (do NOT omit the salt!!! I know some people omit salt because baking soda is salty.  Do not do this!)

1 c. chocolate chips

1 c. chopped walnuts or pecans if desired (often I omit the nuts)

Directions:

Add all ingredients into a bowl at once and mix together.  DO NOT OVERMIX!  Drop by spoonfuls on a baking sheet.  Bake at 350 for 10-12 minutes.

***Most recipes ask you to cream the butter and sugar, then add eggs and then dry ingredients.  Not this one!  Just soften your butter, add everything else in the bowl and mix all together.  I use a spoon, not a kitchen aid for this recipe.***Rachel Signature2

3 thoughts on “The Best Triple C

  1. It’s funny because I have never heard of someone omitting the salt bc baking soda is salty- you must be speaking from personal experience? Hahahahahaha!! Gosh, I love you!

  2. so these are soooo good!! the larger amount of brown sugar makes these chewy and delish to the max! love them! my heart needed chocolate chip cookies, how did you know? 😉

Share Your Thoughts

