The Art in Us

08292013 maya mess

Last week I had an informational interview with a recruiter.

I took my notes home and read and re-read them.  Talked it over with my hubs.  At first, I thought he was being a Debbie-downer and I felt discouraged.  Then I realized he was just getting me to think.  It’s good when our partners challenge us; make us a little uncomfortable.  David just wants the best for me– for our family– for us.  I’m realizing lately that it’s when I’ve been the most uncomfortable that the best comes out of me.  The canvas comes alive and the art I create is more vibrant, clear and beautiful.  No, I’m no artist by any traditional sense of the word.  I’m talking about my life– how I live it– all of it is art.

I’ve also learned to celebrate the season I’m in.  Even though I’ve always wanted to be a full time mama, the last nine months have been surprisingly fulfilling.  I live in an area of the country where everyone works incessantly, often into the wee hours of the night.  Call it good or bad, imbalanced or hard-working, that’s just the way it is here!  So when gifted with the SAHM gig, at first I thought I might feel out of place not working outside the home.  I wondered if I would feel awkward meeting people and not having a glamorous answer to the inevitable “what do you do?!” question.  But I can’t pretend not to love it; I do.  I love being home with my girl.  And I celebrate the gift of being able to do it right now.  This– this is the art I’m creating right now.

I love how Emily Freeman from Chatting at the Sky puts it:

The first thing we know about God is that he made art. The first the we know about people is we were made in the image of an art-making God.

Now when I read quotes like this: If your dreams don’t scare you, they’re not big enough! I am still inspired, but I also now know the size of our dreaming isn’t the point.

The size of our God is.

Christ’s pursuit of me is more important than my pursuit of anything else.

I don’t care if you’re the President or the janitor – your ability to bring glory to God by simply being the person you fully are and embracing the job you’ve been given to do is a uniquely human privilege.

Christ is in you and he wants to come out through you in a way he won’t come out through anyone else. You have been given your two hands, your sick parents, your rotting back door. You have been given your extra deadlines, your diagnosis, the children at your table.

But you have also been given your sense of humor, your skill for writing, your passion to bring light to dark places. You have been given a heart for orphans, for animals, for food or for the poor.

You have been given your life, what you hold in your hands, the ground beneath your feet. You have been asked to show up. How do I know? Because you were born. Show up as you are, not as you think you ought to be.

Don’t run from your calling, no matter what it is.

There isn’t one great thing you were made to do. There is one great God you were made to glorify.

Throughout your life, you’ll do that in a million little ways.

~Emily Freeman, A Million Little Ways

This is Urban Hallelujah.

It’s our mantra, our cry, our prayer, our laughter.  It’s our breath.  One great God we were meant to glorify, for whatever season we’re in, through whatever job we have, in whatever city/suburb we live.

The art we create is vastly different from each other, but art nonetheless!

Our circumstances change but the God of the universe doesn’t.  He allows us to experience each season and provides a way, a home, the money, the meal…  The everything.

The ultimate artist paints the perfect picture of our lives with the clearest of intentions.

And the informational interview?  That’s just a little something I’m playing around with, a little doodling on my art pad. 🙂

What art will you create today?  What story is your canvas painting?  Whatever it may be, look at it as art.  It’s beautiful.  Thanks for reading. 🙂

Rachel Signature

3 thoughts on “The Art in Us

  1. Rachel, Thank you so much for sharing this! This is one of my all time favorite songs because it so encourages those of us who are “artistically challenged” to know we still are made to create amazing things through Him. This is the time given to you to raise your daughter – it can’t wait til later like many things can. I wouldn’t trade one moment of the time I had at home with my kids for anything. Those times are precious, go by so fast, and no one can do this “job” better than you!

    • Thank you Anne! It is so fun to hear from you! i hope your family is well! I keep up with what Ian’s up to on facebook and he seems to be doing really well! Motherhood is definitely the best gift of all, I never want to forget these moments and tiny hands and little chubby knees. Sometimes it is overwhelming to think that I get to be her mommy! God is so good and His abundance is overwhelming. 🙂

      • Rachel! Our family is all good – all over the country, but all well. Ian is doing really well – by God’s amazing grace. I really do love your blog. You two are really gifted writers.and an encouraging voice of God working in real lives in an all too often jaded world. Thank you! You put a smile on my face!

Share Your Thoughts

