The Measure We Use

09122013 measuring cup

Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.” ~ Luke 6:38

By nature, I’m not a generous person.  Sure, I love to give gifts and make others happy, but somewhat on my own terms.  I can be selfish with my time, money and ‘talents’.  I hold on tightly to things (hence my garage sale earlier this summer) and can be way too critical in my judgments of people, church, even movies…  Do you still like me?!  We promised when we started the blog to be blatantly honest in this space so here I am saying it out loud.  I can work on this spirit of generosity that Jesus speaks so much of throughout the gospels.

Over and over I read it, as I’m making my way through the New Testament.  It’s as if the standard used in the old testament is the minimum.  The old law required you give 10%; the example Jesus praised was the widow giving everything she had.  Hating someone was now equal to committing murder and looking at a another with lust was like committing adultery.  And as intense as these sound, even more intense is the grace and forgiveness He measures and pours out on our laps.

Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me. ~ Matthew 25:40

He says we should turn the other cheek.  If we’re sued for the shirt off our back, to give our coat as well.  We’re to give to whoever asks, without demanding any of it back.  To forgive debts.  To love enemies and even do good to them!  Basically, to be generous.

And so as I’ve been reading these things (albeit they’re not new– these words have been around a while!) my heart is stirred and I’m asking God to show me what it means to be generous specifically in my own life.  I don’t really know how He’ll answer… And I know this kind of prayer is super vague.  Show me what it is to be generous.  Create a generous spirit within me.  Make me generous, Lord.  What does it all mean?  Sure, I could give all our money away to the poor or move to Africa as a missionary, but I don’t think that’s what He’s calling me to.  In my real suburban New Jersey housewife/mama life, where is He specifically calling me to be generous?

Remember this: Whoever sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and whoever sows generously will also reap generously. ~2nd Corinthians 9:6

So this morning I leave you with the same question to ponder.  Where is He leading you in the spirit of generosity?  Where can you give more freely?  Whether it be money, time, gifts/talents, forgiveness, grace or a multitude of other things, there is probably something.  May we have the eyes and ears to see and hear where He calls us individually in this area, as it is unique to each of us.  Thanks for reading!

Rachel Signature2

One thought on “The Measure We Use

  1. Pingback: Why Are You Moving Again?! | Urban Hallelujah

Share Your Thoughts

