Don’t Stop, Believin’…

Auntie B and Maya on Maya's first carnival ride :)

Auntie B and Maya on Maya’s first carnival ride 🙂

My sister and her boyfriend came to visit last week.  They were the last of a slew of visitors we’ve had over the summer and I must say, when they left I was really sad!  My sister is the world to me and I already miss her.

It was fun to see things through the lens of a 22 year old again.  As we talked to them about college life and internships, it was clear to me they are excited; there is a hopefulness in their spirit as they look forward to the unknown ahead.  The world is at their fingertips, and they feel it– spinning but not out of control.  The future is uncertain, yet there is a comfortableness with this kind of uncertainty.  They are undaunted by the challenges the economy brings to new college grads.  They are determined to do what they love.  They are pressed forward, working towards something they’re passionate about and excited to pursue.  And no one is going to tell them they can’t.  What’s even better, they believe.  They believe they can do, be, create, go– they can do any and all of it.

When did we stop believing?

Somewhere along the line as we get grown up jobs and marry and have a kid and buy a house and the list could go on and on– somewhere in the midst of that it’s easy to lose your belief…  The belief that you really can work to be or do or create.

Heck, it’s easy to lose your drive, your passion, your hope…  Yourself.

When did we stop believing?

  • I wanted that job, but now I’m just a mom.
  • I wanted to travel there, but now my job isn’t flexible for a trip like that.
  • I wanted to write that book, but no one will read what I have to say.
  • I wanted to start that company, but…
  • I wanted to go back to school, but I’ve got a mortgage to pay.
  • I wanted to lose weight, but I have no time to work out.

So as we were eating dinner one night I told them never to let go of these hopes and dreams and feelings they have in their palms and hearts right now.  That the world will discourage them and they might feel like they’ve lost the ability or drive to go and be and create.  They might just lose their way at some point but they can do any of it. 

It’s cliché, but they control their destiny.

I wish they could bottle up that feeling they have right now and sell it because they’d be millionaires! 🙂

So instead of feeling stuck, there is something today that we can do to move us closer and closer to our ultimate goal.  We can do and be and create.  Ok, so we can’t be anything we want (not everyone can be the queen of England) but there are millions of things we can.  Millions.  And one step today and tomorrow a couple years from now will be that marathon, that book, that job, that trip– that person.

That person who’s not afraid.

So go be Julia Child.  It’s never too late.  You’re never too old.  You start some how, in a small way, today.  Go be it.  Don’t stop believing (insert Journey song here :)).

Thanks for reading!

Rachel Signature

6 thoughts on “Don’t Stop, Believin’…

  1. So sad but true. We need good friends to remind of us of our dreams because sometimes the world and the mirror says we can’t. A good friend will dream with you, no matter how crazy it sounds!

  2. So true! Oh, to be 22 again…I remember that feeling. But you are right, it got lost somewhere amid the bills, setbacks, losses, etc. Somewhere in there life started to go of course and it is so easy for disillusionment and even cynicism to set in and to go from hoping and believing that you can do anything…to thinking that none of those things would have worked out anyhow. It’s sad really. But a good reminder that it isn’t too late to hope and believe, to try something new. It might not look the way I would’ve imagined it when I was younger, but that doesn’t mean that it isn’t worth pursuing. Thanks for sharing Rach 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

