Good Things

10032013 kitchen

This week we bought our sweet girl a play kitchen.  It wasn’t anything fancy, in fact I found it on craigslist and hardly paid anything for it.  My girl has been ‘cooking’ and ‘cleaning’ and ‘making coffee’ ever since.  She is in pure heaven with those fake little pizza slices and pretend pots and pans.  It brings me such joy to see her having fun and the happiness on her face.

How good it is to give our children sweet gifts!

How blessed I am to watch my little girl revel in her enjoyment!

How blessed we are to have a Father who, even more so, wants to give us good things!

Being a mama has truly shed a different light on this for me.  It is very hard for me to fully grasp that my Heavenly Father wants to give me good things purely because I am His and He loves me.  There were times when Maya was very, very little that I thought it couldn’t be possible for this feeling in my heart to last, that the joy and gratitude and love were too wonderful for someone like me.  Surely something would happen to take it all away.  Yet I am still here and my girl is still growing and my heart explodes everyday with more love and I am in awe and grateful.  As I watch her squeal with delight for her lamb doll or when she looks up at me and asks for more milk, I begin to better understand just how much my Father wants to give me good things.

Ask, and it will be given to you; seek, and you will find; knock, and it will be opened to you. 8 For everyone who asks receives, and the one who seeks finds, and to the one who knocks it will be opened. 9 Or which one of you, if his son asks him for bread, will give him a stone? 10 Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a serpent? 11 If you then, who are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give good things to those who ask him!  ~Matthew 7:7-11

When you pause to consider that God is infinitely strong and can do all that he pleases, and that he is infinitely righteous so that he only does what is right, and that he is infinitely good so that everything he does is perfectly good, and that he is infinitely wise so that he always knows perfectly what is right and good, and that he is infinitely loving so that in all his strength and righteousness and goodness and wisdom he raises the eternal joy of his loved ones as high as it can be raised—when you pause to consider this, then the lavish invitations of this God to ask him for good things, with the promise that he will give them, is unimaginably wonderful.

~John Piper, DesiringGod.org

We serve a God who wants to give us GOOD things.  Receive it, believe it, cling to it.  Dear sister, you didn’t do anything special to deserve it, you simply were created by the artist of the universe and He sees you and says you are good.  You are purely His child and that is enough!

How great the Father’s love for us
How vast beyond all measure
That he should give his only son
To make a wretch his treasure

Rachel Signature2

One thought on “Good Things

  1. Pingback: It’s Okay… You Can Ask | Urban Hallelujah

Share Your Thoughts

