Do Something Creative

Little girls create fun out of almost nothing!

Little girls create fun out of almost nothing!

I remember my mom telling me to find time to do something creative when I moved here.  As a new mom who would not be working outside the home, she encouraged me to find a hobby where I could be creative.

Creative?

I don’t like art, I thought.  I don’t paint or draw or make things out of clay.

I’m so pig headed sometimes!

She reminded me how she used to sew and make photo albums and how that outlet was freeing and necessary.  She reminded me how I painted my kitchen cabinets and how much work fun it was.

Some of the very simple front porches my neighbors have created that inspire me to create my own fall front porch!

Some of the very simple front porches my neighbors have created that inspire me to create my own fall front porch!

Creativity isn’t for just things that belong in fancy NYC museums.  It’s for all of us.  For painting mugs at the local pottery shop or making jam or applesauce; for creating your own piece of artwork to hang in the house or simply learning a new recipe.  It’s moving around furniture and making new outfits out of clothes you already have.  It’s finding that treasure at goodwill or at the mall and styling it up with your own creative mastermind. 🙂

And you know what?

We need this.  God, the creator of the universe, made.  He created.  It’s the first thing we know about him.  In the beginning, He created…

You don’t need to be crafty to create something.

You don’t have to be artsy to make something beautiful.

You don’t need hours of time to be creative.

You need YOU and the freedom to create.

Little children are wonderful creators.  Just give them a box and a blanket and they will make a toy!

So this week, I encourage you do something fun and create.  Find a recipe you’ve been wanting to try and make it.  Or heck, create your own recipe!  Paint that dresser you’ve been thinking about, decorate your front porch, set the table pretty for dinner even.  The smallest act can be special when you add your personal creativity to it, and it’s so much fun!

Rachel Signature

Share Your Thoughts

