He Will Do It

10162013 alarm clock

May God himself, the God of peace, sanctify you through and through.  May your whole spirit, soul and body be kept blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.  The one who calls you is faithful and he will do it.”

The alarm sounds, and almost every morning I hit snooze.

The alarm goes off again, and David stirs.  He gets up, puts on his jogging shorts and laces up his Asics.

He’s the most disciplined person I know.

He’ll run those three miles in any kind of weather.  I mean any kind.  Snow does not keep him away from the sound of his sneakers hitting the pavement.  He knows this is good for him, and he’s come to enjoy it.  Without hesitation, every morning he runs.

As I hear him in the bathroom I swing my legs over the side of the bed.  I reach for my phone and the video monitor and grab my robe.

Coffee, I think.  Strong coffee.

It goes like this every morning during the week.

I am weak.  Very, very weak.  I’m not going running.  I’m awaking to the comfort of a soft blanket on my morning couch and a little leather bible.  I’m not out there lungs heavy and cheeks burning from the cold autumn air.  I’m here, in my warm house and it’s still hard.

It sounds good in theory, to give Him the first-fruit of my day.

But oh, it’s so hard to wake up early.

In the morning, Lord, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait expectantly. ~Psalm 5:3

But I cry to you for help, Lord; in the morning my prayer comes before you. ~Psalm 88:13

Satisfy us in the morning with your unfailing love, that we may sing for joy and be glad all our days. ~Psalm 90:14

Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you.  Show me the way I should go, for to you I entrust my life. ~Psalm 143:8

I feel that God has asked me personally to get up early and spend the first part of my day with him.  I do not think everyone should get up early (no doubt there are those who should definitely NOT get up early– the rest of us will thank you for it haha!) and I don’t know that God will ask me to do this for the rest of my life.  But in this season, He has asked me to awaken early and start my day with Him.

And it is hard.

There are days that I keep pressing snooze.

Days that I just sleep in.

And then there are days when I am obedient.

To be honest, I can’t tell you the obedient days are much smoother and happier and joyous than the days when I sleep in.  But they are a part of a bigger story of obedience.  When I am weak, when I press snooze, when I am tired, He is not.  He who has started a good work in me will carry it on to completion (Philippians 1:6).

He will do it.

When He calls us, He is faithful.  I may struggle to wake at 6 or 6:30, but if it is from Him, it is for Him, and He will do it.  There is power where He is, and we cannot have a form of ‘godliness’ but deny the power from which it is from (2 Timothy 3:5).  He hasn’t called us because we are so great but because of His purpose and His grace (2 Timothy 1:9).  He has given us all things for our enjoyment (1 Timothy 4:17) and He will not disappoint (Isaiah 49:23).

Who am I to say waking early is exempt? 🙂

He who calls you is faithful and He will do it.

He will do it.

He will DO IT!

If we are faithless,
he will remain faithful,
for he cannot disown himself.
~2 Timothy 2:13

Wherever you are, whatever He’s asking of you today, whatever hill is ahead of you…  Take hope in the promise that He will do it. Thanks for reading!

Rachel Signature2

One thought on “He Will Do It

  1. Pingback: Success? | Urban Hallelujah

Share Your Thoughts

