It’s No Useless Business

1213 places you'll go2

You can get so confused

that you’ll start in to race

down long wiggled roads at a break-necking pace

and grind on for miles across weirdish wild space,

headed, I fear, toward a most useless place.

The Waiting Place…

…for people just waiting.

Waiting for a train to go

or a bus to come, or a plane to go

or the mail to come, or the rain to go

or the phone to ring, or the snow to snow

or waiting around for a Yes or a No

or waiting for their hair to grow.

Everyone is just waiting.

Waiting for the fish to bite

or waiting for wind to fly a kite

or waiting around for Friday night

or waiting, perhaps, for their Uncle Jake

or a pot to boil, or a Better Break

or a string of pearls, or a pair of pants

or a wig with curls, or Another Chance.

Everyone is just waiting.

~Dr. Seuss, Oh the Places You’ll Go!

Have you ever been here?

In the waiting place?

How does it make you feel?

I know how it makes ME feel!!!!

  • Anxious
  • Bored
  • Worried
  • Impatient
  • Discouraged
  • Hopeless
  • Sad
  • Like a failure
  • Desperate

But you know what the Lord says about waiting?

Yet the Lord longs to be gracious to you; therefore he will rise up to show you compassion. For the Lord is a God of justice. Blessed are all who wait for him! ~Isaiah 30:18

Since ancient times no one has heard, no ear has perceived, no eye has seen any God besides you, who acts on behalf of those who wait for him. ~Isaiah 64:4

Blessed are those who listen to me, watching daily at my doors, waiting at my doorway. ~Proverbs 8:34

waited patiently for the Lord; he turned to me and heard my cry. ~Psalm 40:1

Lord, I wait for you; you will answer, Lord my God. ~Psalm 38:15

Reading these biblical truths, you know what I see?

We are blessed, He is acting on our behalf, He hears us, and He will answer.

Dr. Suess missed one thing.

Waiting is no useless business.

While it may feel like it, while it may appear we are stuck in no man’s land and while we are waiting for whatever it is, the waiting is no useless business!!!

Then they believed his promises and sang his praise.

But they soon forgot what he had done and did not wait for his plan to unfold.

In the desert they gave in to their craving;

in the wilderness they put God to the test.

~Psalm 106:12-14

Just as a steak rests after grilling to redistribute the juices and an unborn child takes 9 months to ready himself for the world, so we are preparing in our waiting.

Let’s not forget what He has done and give in to our cravings, giving way to our wandering! (heaven forbid it would be for 40 years, too!)

Let’s wait in expectation for the glory that is already ours for those who are in Christ!

May my heart pray this a little bit every day, that I would learn, hope, trust, believe and expect in the waiting place.

Rachel Signature2

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “It’s No Useless Business

  1. I’ve been in that place more times than not over the past 13 years with 8 interstate moves. Sounds crazy sometimes but we always felt like the Lord was leading the way. Great song for that waiting is “Worship in the Waiting.” Love your blog – what so many of us need to read!

    • Thanks Kathy! I know how moving is, although I’ve never done 8 interstate (yet! lol!). I’ll have to check out that song! I also love Casting Crowns “While I’m Waiting”. Good stuff!

  2. I had a job interview on Wednesday morning, and the longer I wait for that phone call telling me I have the job, the more apparent it is that it is not going to come. I asked God to find me the right job, and yet since the interview I have been anxious in my waiting. I needed to hear your message to stay the course. God is so loving to let me read your blog just when I needed some encouragement. Wow.

  3. Thank you for this post! I just found it (a little late), but it is so awesomely relevant to me right now. I’m a bit antsy, and I feel like the Lord is telling me that I need embrace the resting/waiting period, chill out, and trust Him. So thank you. <:) God is doing awesome things through you ladies; thank you for writing this blog!!
    Blessings! ❤

Share Your Thoughts

