Don’t Waste It!

01232014 Influence

First of all, I’m not going to apologize for this picture but I know it looks a little funny.  A christian blog with a photo of two frat guys (or maybe they’re not frat guys, I’m totally assuming!) with a beer and a shot of who knows what (gasp!) on the front of the blog…  But I just felt like it really drives home the point of this post.  We really can be influenced to do/be/feel a multitude of things (apparently, including wearing leis and not wearing shirts while not laying out on a beach but whatev! haha!).  But I digress.  To each their own!

I remember sitting with my boss one rainy afternoon, talking about my job performance.  It was a good conversation; I’ve never been one to slack off or not get something done.  Even so, something struck me throughout our conversation that I’ll never forget.

Influence.

He told me that I had the unique ability to influence those around me, and I could use that to either motivate and help grow the business or I could waste it.  Use it or lose it, essentially; make it count or pour it down the drain.  It was up to me.  

While I’m sure he meant for those words to make me think specifically about my promotable future, that conversation was a pivotal moment for me beyond just my job.  He said I could be influential.  I had the ability to influence decisions, minds, direction– even mood.  Thankfully, my boss wanted me to flourish.  He wanted to help me understand the business even more so that I could better make decisions and better guide that influential spirit he believed I had.  I was grateful for his mentorship.

Influence has power, doesn’t it?

And while I think he was right about some things, there’s something I think could use a little tweaking (tweaking, not twerking, LOL!).  While he was speaking to the uniqueness within the business environment, I do not think influence is unique to only certain individuals.  What I’m talking about is not like a skill or a gift or a strength.  While some may use it more heavily than others (politicians, anyone?! :)), we all have the ability to influence, lead and build.  Don’t waste it!

Now that I am a wife and a mama, I realize this more than ever…  Especially regarding the tone of the spirit in our home.

  • If I am crabby, my baby girl gets restless.  I can assure you destruction mode will follow!
  • When I am annoyed and unhappy for no apparent reason (PMS I hate you) the people I love most suddenly follow suit.
  • If I am tragically over-dramatic, over-dramatic responses and tones of voices and words fill that stuffy air.
  • But when I choose joy, gratitude and patience, the mood reflects those tones as well.

It’s kind of scary, but we have power!  Don’t waste it!

It’s up to you.  To me.  It’s up to us to set the tone in our homes.  Aren’t peace and joy and kindness so much better than moodiness, crankiness and criticism?  Doesn’t forgiveness begin to chip away at resentment?  Isn’t grace refreshing to keeping score?  You set the mood.  I set the tone.  We are the deciding factors.  Don’t waste it!

“Do everything without complaining and arguing…” ~Philippians 2:14

“Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.” ~Ephesians 4:29 (emphasis added)

The last couple days these verses have been the topic of my study, which bums me out on one hand because it brings to light how much growing I have to do in this area!  On the other hand, however, it illuminates what Christ intends for us– and if this is His will, He will do it!  Now…  Will we allow him and will we be obedient?

Don’t waste this power, my friend.  Your influence is key to shaping the vibe your home, husband and children (or if you’re single– your roommates, classmates, coworkers and/or teammates) will exude.  You can change minds, decisions, direction– even moods.  Your influence has power.

You are influential.  

Don’t waste it!

Rachel Signature2

14 thoughts on “Don’t Waste It!

  1. I was thinking the exact same thing last week. A proverb that has always encouraged me to choose my attitude towards my family is Proverbs 14:1, ‘The wise woman builds her house, but with her own hands the foolish one tears hers down.’

  2. Pingback: Luminescent Influence » Lydia's Lineage - Fellowship of Christian Career Women

  3. This has been sitting in my inbox, and I kept saying I was going to read it. Finally, tonight I got the chance. It was God timing for sure! Thanks for the reminder and encouragement!

Share Your Thoughts

