He Sees

02132014 god who sees

My fingers click-clack-clickety-click and immediately delete.  Again and again and again.  Sometimes the words come easily, others, like today, I’m struggling to articulate just what it is God is pressing on my heart.  It’s easy to look back and reflect on the lessons learned, it’s a whole other thing to see the lesson in the learning!  Like Krista mentioned previously, we have to ask God to open our eyes and let us see so we can look through the mud and truly see what He is doing.  I know in my gut He is sovereign over the seen and unseen, but oh how I, like doubting Thomas, lean towards seeing to believe!

It’s then that I realize I truly have it backwards!

Because friends…

We have a God who sees us despite whether we see Him or not!

There is such beauty in this truth.

I’m reminded of Hagar, remember her?  She was the maidservant of Abram’s wife, Sarai.  God had made a covenant with Abram– promising him a nation and offspring more numerous than the stars in the sky.  There was just a little problem– Sarai could not have children and was way beyond child bearing years.  Thinking she would help God along in fulfilling His promise (how many times have I done this too?!), she gave Hagar to Abram so perhaps Hagar could get pregnant and begin Abram’s lineage.  This turns out just the way you’d expect it to when two women are sleeping with the same husband– bad!  Very bad!  They both start despising each other and Sarai begins mistreating her maidservant.  It becomes so bad in fact, Hagar flees to the desert!

I often wonder what Hagar was thinking at this point!  She’s pregnant, fleeing by herself, in a desert.  Did I mention she’s pregnant?  Ain’t nobody wanna be in a desert pregnant!  Whew!  Glad I got that off my chest!  It must have been bad.

Anyway, the wonderful part of the story is that the bible says “The angel of the Lord found Hagar near a spring in the desert…  And he said, ‘Hagar,  servant of Sarai, where have you come from and where are you going?'” (Gen 16:7-8)

Oh how beautiful it is to be found!

Not only did he find her, but he cares for her.  He asks her, unassumingly I might add, what the heck is going on!  And she responds with honesty and confesses she’s running away.  Keep in mind, she’s a servant.  This is not a waitressing job or an employment-at-will situation.  She’s basically owned by Sarai, and she’s running because she’s being treated awfully by the very woman who ordered her to do what got her into this mess.  I don’t blame her one bit.  But the truth is, she’s running.

The beauty is that God did not leave her in the desert.  He did not throw up his hands exasperated, shaking his head in disappointment.  No, no, no.  He gently called her to go back and submit.

Say what?!  That’s worse if you ask me!

Yes, I know, I had to read it a few times myself.  I actually was slightly annoyed at God for a moment too, if I’m completely honest with you.  Here is this pregnant woman, in a desert, fleeing her mistress who treats her like dirt– and the God of the heavens is telling her to go back and submit.  Oh the tears that must have been shed.  The pounding of fists and screaming into imaginary pillows in the desert.  Yet the scriptures simply state that her response to Him was simply “You are the God who sees me…  I have now seen the One who sees me.” (Gen 16:13)

It’s obvious that Hagar didn’t see God in the situation when she was fleeing in the desert!  She didn’t see Him working or fighting for her or orchestrating big beautiful plans on her behalf.  She couldn’t see Him.  But in her brokenness, in her weariness, in her disobedience, even– He saw her.  We serve a God who sees us even if we can’t see Him at work.

As the angel of the Lord is telling Hagar to go back and submit, He also tells her He will multiply her descendants more abundantly than she can count.  In other words, He will bless her for her faithfulness.  I know multiple descendants may not sound like a blessing (haha!) but it was in such a time.  Hagar would name the son she bore “Ishmael”, meaning “God hears”.  She was seen by a God who heard her as well!

So now, as I look internally and pray that God would open my eyes, I also whisper the truth that I know He sees even when I do not.  I pray I would be faithful to return and submit where He’s calling me to (laundry, anyone?!).  I pray, like a tweet I read earlier this week said, “If we really believe that God is good then we should never be afraid of his answers to our prayers” even if His answer is to go back and submit (shout out to Mike Kim from Emmanuel ERC!  I might not have ever met you or maybe I did but you tweet good stuff!).   I pray I would rest in the truth that the Lord really does see me and my little, mundane, beautiful life.  He sees even when I do not see Him.

If you are running to the desert today, look up.  He sees you!

He may ask where you’ve come from, and where you’re going, and that’s okay.  It’s because He sees you!

He may ask you to return, to submit even– but it’s only because He sees you!

He sees us, friends.

And there is blessing… A multitude of blessing for our faithfulness.  My only hope that it is not in the multiple descendants category of blessing!  haha 🙂

Rachel Signature2

10 thoughts on “He Sees

  1. I have never seen that side of the story before…and I loved the way you unwound it. Deeply. Purposefully. And it spoke to my heart. That’s just wonderful!

  2. Rachel often in times of struggle all I want to do is run away. When times are good, I’m fine, but it is in times of struggle that I am blinded by all things–even God. I cannot hear Him. And as much as I hate to admit it, I can’t hear Him because I do not turn to Him and pray. I try to be a good Christian, but over the years I have found myself questioning God more than praising Him. I have loved, I am in love with my husband, children and grandbaby, but I have no idea what my purpose is from God. I am charitable to a fault, but when things get ugly my first instinct is fight or flight. I usually chose flight.

    This message today has brought a new perspective to my life and that I need to praise Him more each and everyday. I need to read my Bible more. I need to “open my eyes” and focus on what God has given me and within that I will find my happiness and won’t have to try a flee. I know God watches over me, because if he didn’t I probably wouldn’t be here today.

    Thank you for the wonderful message. It lifted my heart and gave me courage and the knowledge I needed to move forward and stop looking at the past.

    • Oh Amanda I know how you feel! I have often looked up and wondered what the heck God’s purpose was for me. I still struggle with that at times too. But what a wonderful promise of hope He has for us! Thank goodness He dreams bigger than we do for ourselves, and that He sees us when we can’t see Him! Blessings to you sweet friend!

  3. When diving into this story from God’s Word and really studying it, I have always focused on Abram and Sarai only. I have never thought about looking at the story from Hagar’s perspective and I love how you have done just that. I was absolutely convicted when you pointed out that Sarai’s act of giving Hagar to her husband was her way of “helping” God fulfill His promise. It hit me so hard that I try to do that far too often. When in reality, God’s promise WILL be fulfilled no matter if I help or if I run as hard away from it as I possibly can. Thank you for this beautiful blog post. It has definitely revealed to me an area in my life that I need to give the Lord full control over.

    God bless you abundantly!

    • Thank you! I am constantly trying to help God fulfill what I think His promises are for me… And it usually ends up in my face! You’d think I’d learn! Thankfully His purposes always prevail. Thank goodness for that! Thank you so much for your kind words, they mean so much to me! May God bless YOU abundantly too!!! xoxo

  4. I can’t believe you wrote this. It’s like you were in my head, and working with God to tell me, return and submit…just a little while longer.

    • Hi Tammy! Whatever it is you’re going through, if He’s calling you to return and submit He will absolutely give you the strength and the courage to do it. “He who began a good work in you will carry in on to completion” (phil 1:6). Thinking of you today. Bless you friend!

  5. This has always been one of my favorite parts of the Bible. I spent a lot of my teenage years and even now in my 20’s wondering if anybody really sees me. I live in a tiny town and it seems no matter what I accomplish – surviving a huge tumor, going to china or Africa, rearranging the whole church nursery by myself – that no one ever acknowledged or cared what I did. Or because of how I look, guys would look right past me and not see who I really am. It used to make me so angry and so sad, but I relate so much to Hagar, she was just doing what she was told and being punished for it! But GOD sees. I rest in that assurance daily now. When I don’t get lunch or birthday invites, when someone takes the credit for something I did, it doesn’t matter who else sees me or my heart – God loves me, and is proud of me, and has called me his own, and that’s a beautiful thing ❤️ Thanks for this!

Share Your Thoughts

