A Bath and a Phone

02272014 bath and phone

Cast all your anxiety on him, for he cares for you.~ 1 Peter 5:7

She screamed and tried to get out of the tub.  Terrified, she looked at me and pointed up at the shower head.

“Camera?”  She asked through fits of tears, as if she thought someone was looking in on her in the bathtub!

“No, no, baby girl, it’s not a camera!  It’s a shower head.” I took her sopping wet little body and wrapped her in a towel.  “It’s okay baby girl.  You don’t have to be scared.”

She hugged me and looked up at it again.  I tried to put her back into the tub, only for her to reciprocate screams of terror.  She again pointed up at the shower head, this time cried “shower head” and buried her face in my shoulder.

I leaned over, drained the tub and again wrapped her in the towel.  “It’s okay Maya,” I said, drying her off.  “It’s just the shower head.  It’s how mama takes her shower.  It’s not scary.”  I partially blame her baby monitor; ever since she realized a camera is watching her in her crib she asks me if a lot of things are cameras!

The next day, we were in the kitchen making dinner.  I was chopping vegetables and she was standing on the stool at the kitchen island playing with toys when suddenly the phone rang.

Maya shrieked and buried her head down, screaming “phone!”  She looked utterly frightened, even though the phone rings all the time and she knew exactly what it was.  I pulled her up, giving her a hug and rubbing her back, assuring her it was fine and it was just Daddy calling.  She quieted and began talking to her daddy, as I wondered what the HECK was going on!  Why my anxious baby?!

The bath was good for her, and normally she loved the water, but now she was scared to the point of jumping out of the tub!

The phone was a normal volume and a familiar sound, yet she was so caught off guard by the noise she was scared silly!

And then I wondered how many times has God looked at me and thought…  What the HECK Rachel!  I’ve got this!  It’s just a bath, it’s just the phone!  Don’t you trust me?!  Don’t you know I care for you, I provide for you, I LOVE you?!  These things are part of my design, part of your story– and I orchestrate all things to work for good.  Trust me, daughter. I’ve got this.

And yet I worry, worry, worry.

Sure, many of the things I worry about are legitimate concerns.  Bills, safety, health, schedules, travel, etc…  But legitimate concern and worry are completely two different things, right?  Worry, by Webster’s definition, is to “give way to anxiety or unease; allow one’s mind to dwell on difficulty or troubles.”  Oh if I could only focus my worry on my GOD!

Parenting has taught me so much about God and how He loves.  To know that He loves my daughter even more than I do is a very comforting thought, because it’s insane how much I love her.  How could he possibly love her any more?!  To know He loves me in the same way completely blows my mind!  To know He disciplines those He loves just like I discipline my little girl– and to understand that He allows me to experience things like a bath and a phone (whatever they may be for us) because it’s really all His and is for Him anyway brings me peace.

So if you, like me, lean towards worrying and anxiety over trust and refuge in the Lord, let’s take a moment.  Let’s turn to His word and stand firm in His promise of provision, rescue and deliverance.  Let’s rest in it’s truth, letting it sink into our soul!  May we realize in the scheme of heaven, our worries are purely a bath and a phone.

Say to those who have an anxious heart, “Be strong; fear not! Behold, your God will come with vengeance, with the recompense of God. He will come and save you.” ~Isaiah 35:4 ESV

He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will abide in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say to the Lord, “My refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.” For he will deliver you from the snare of the fowler and from the deadly pestilence. He will cover you with his pinions, and under his wings you will find refuge; his faithfulness is a shield and buckler. You will not fear the terror of the night, nor the arrow that flies by day” ~Psalm 91:1-5 ESV

When I am afraid, I put my trust in you. ~Psalm 56:3 ESV

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. ~Philippians 4:6-7 ESV

I am happy to report that at the time of this post, Maya no longer freaks out in the bath or when the phone rings.  Oh the life of a toddler, ever changing, ever growing!  May He continue to teach me life lessons through parenting my sweet little girl. 

Rachel Signature

12 thoughts on “A Bath and a Phone

  1. I just love everything about your writings. You are such an inspiration. I also have a baby girl. Her name is Peyton and she is 2 years old. I totally agree with you that parenting gives us a better understanding of just how much God truly loves us, His children. Please, keep doing what you are doing. Oh, and bye the way, Peyton is scared of the vacuum cleaner. The life of a toddler is so raugh, lol.

  2. Beautiful post! My son is 16 months and is really changing a lot in the past few weeks. I have never left him overnight, and we have a women’s conference coming up, and I am absolutely terrified. I know that my husband will do a great job, it’s not that I don’t trust him. but I just keep thinking- WHAT IF something happens when Im away?! What if what if what if…..Its exhausting and I know it’s not healthy. Thank you for this reminder! and Im so glad Maya isn’t scared of the bath or phone anymore. 🙂

    • Amanda– I totally understand! I still haven’t left her overnight! Being as we are away from family and my husband travels quite a bit for his job, I haven’t had the chance to and even if I did I don’t know what I’d think about it! So you are not alone. But don’t worry, God has given you this opportunity to go and you should embrace it fully and be completely in the moment while you are there! How fun to be going to an all-gals event! I hope you are tremendously blessed by your time there :).

  3. Oh the literal love you put into that post! I can feel the deep loving spirit that your daughter has from you and it makes me so happy to read that. It truly is how God adores us. And holds us. Thank you for the reminder!!

  4. Rachel thank you for your message as I am what the call a “worry wart.” My Granny, before she passed last year, would always say give it to God. I have to admit for years I had doubts about my God until she passed and when I saw what looked like a smile on her face when she passed I knew she had entered the Kingdom of Heaven. Although I have yet to find a church to my liking, with all this new worship (I like that old time religion. It was how I was raised.) I have God in my heart and feel surrounded by His love daily. Now if he could take my anxiety away, it would be delightful.

    Also I love the passages of the Bible you chose. They had an impact on me that spoke to me on such a deep level. Thank you Rachel.

Share Your Thoughts

