And to KNOW…

03202014know-christ

Sometimes in the life days, the normal sacred nothing days– that’s when He speaks and says be still and know that I am God (Psalm 46:10).

It’s those days full of everything and nothing when I can’t seem to remember a thing I’ve done yet I’ve been ‘busy’ all day long… Those are the days He calls and beckons me to the hope of glory, Christ in me (Colossians 1:27).

The water dripping under the sink, the toilet that keeps running and the stove that won’t stop beeping unless I unplug it– the constant reminders of fixes that need to be done and calls that should be made…  This is when my spirit says give me direction Lord!  How much longer?  Give me clarity, show me the future!  Guide my steps and lead me!  And there in the dripping faucet He says in that still small voice to live is Christ (Philippians 1:21).

How many times have I asked him for the next thing, for the next move, for the next clue as to what I should do?

Where I should go, who I should talk to, why He allowed it, what I’m to say, where He’s leading…

Don’t get me wrong, all these things are good and noble.  I believe God does meet us in our asking, and often will direct our steps with specific answers.  He has done this many times for me!  I do, however, believe this is not the end all be all.  This is not what we are living for– that magical crystal globe that tells us what we should do, be, say or where to go.  This is not why God created us, this is not our purpose.

We are to know Christ.

As I return off the plane from the vacation of my dreams and am met with 21 degree weather biting at my nose, I look up and ask ‘how much longer?’.  I see Him theoretically smile and reply, be found in me, know me, gain me (Philippians 3:8-9).

I am to know Christ.

I don’t know how much longer my sweet little family will be in New Jersey.  If I am completely honest with you, it has been a long year and I am ready to move on.  I rejoice in knowing the Lord led us here, but often wonder why.  I have yet to make a strong network here like I did when we moved to Portland.  We have yet to feel completely connected at church.  We are inside most of these snowy days and worked hard and high into the night.  We seek direction and reasons and wonder at it all.  We pray for clarity and peace and joy.  We ask Him to lead and direct our steps, will He show up and be clear and go before us?  Will He give us the direction we so desperately desire?

And His answer is KNOW ME.

At first it didn’t even seem like an answer at all.  I asked again.

KNOW ME.

Perhaps I have been so caught up in the whirlwind of moving and settling and finding and discovering and waiting and wondering that I have forgotten I am to seek Him and find Him, seeking Him wholeheartedly (Jeremiah 29:13).  He is my end; He is my goal and prize (Philippians 3:12-14).  Not California, not warm weather, not my mama or my sister close by again…  He is my everything, and I am to know Him well.

To live is Christ (Philippians 1:21).

I want to know Christ (Philippians 3:10).

Christ is everything (1 Corinthians 15:27).

May we know Him better still, with each passing day.

God in my living, there in my breathing
God in my waking, God in my sleeping
God in my resting, there in my working
God in my thinking, God in my speaking

Be my everything, be my everything
Be my everything, be my everything

God in my hoping, there in my dreaming
God in my watching, God in my waiting
God in my laughing, there in my weeping
God in my hurting, God in my healing

Be my everything, be my everything
Be my everything, be my everything

Christ in me, Christ in me
Christ in me, the hope of glory
You are everything

~Tim Hughes, Everything

Rachel Signature

3 thoughts on “And to KNOW…

  1. Thank you Rachel, These are the things God shared with me these past few weeks, I moved to the city, left everything that’s familiar behind and had to start over and God just wanted me for Himself, He wants my time and He wants me to get to know Him. It’s great to know that He uses someone in another country to share something that is sooo applicable to my life. God bless you abundantly and thank you for all the posts.

  2. Beautiful. Much needed. This tells me I need to get closer to God. When my Granny passed, she was the one person I could tell everything too and she was a Godly woman. When she passed in the hospital and we went and said our final personal good byes, it was like she had a smile on her face because had entered the walls of heaven. Jasper walls and golden avenues. She made me believe more and more in our God Almighty. When my twin sister was murdered, she would come to me in my dreams, and one time she came to me in a beautiful green dress made out of some sort of ivy with her blonde hair flowing and I knew that she was an angel and a sudden peace came over me. Although I am still struggling with their deaths, I know they are with our Father where they should be.

    Thank you for this message.

Share Your Thoughts

