Let Him Fight

IMG_2890

Sometimes when there are no words, no energy, no tears left…

When the mountain ahead is so high, too rocky, threatening your very existence…

The thrashing waves are crashing over and over and over straight on YOUR HEAD for crying out loud and you can’t even find your way up to get one last breath– you feel as though you’re sinking with two dead weights strapped to each of your feet.  It’s just down, down, down…

When those around you– the ones who have promised to be there and love you no matter what have slipped and let you down in more ways than you can count…

When what you’ve been waiting for keeps slipping from your hands time and time again and you have no energy to run after it any more.  You are a heap of dry tears because you don’t even have the strength to cry anymore.  You thought this was your future, and it seems as if it will never happen! You are losing hope, losing the will to try, losing faith.

When disaster after disaster hits, intimidating you to the point of waiving your white flag and succumbing to your lowest of lows…

This is the time.

When you have nothing left to give.

Nothing left to offer.

Nothing in you that can fight.

This is the time…

Let Him fight for you.

The Lord your God is going ahead of you.  He will fight for you, just as you saw him do in Egypt.  And you saw how the Lord your God cared for you all along the way as you traveled through the wilderness, just as a father cares for his child.  Now he has brought you to this place. ~Deuteronomy 1:30-31

I love how in the book of Deuteronomy Moses outlines the Israelites’ history and their journey throughout the wilderness.  They were about to reach the promised land, and they were weary.  Weary from 40 years of wandering, weary from eating manna, weary from travel.  And yet before they would cross the river into that special place God had prepared for them, Moses reminded them of all they had been through to get to this point, and warned them of what was ahead.  Even though what awaited them was what seemed like an illusion of grandeur (it was that good), Moses knew these people.  They’re just like normal people, after all.  He knew their tendency to fold and cave and disobey.  He knew all of it; he’d seen it all!  In their weariness, he knew they would be frightened at the “taller and more powerful” (Deut 1:28) people they would face in the new land.  They were so tired from the journey.  Yet Moses reminds them that the LORD is going ahead of them and will fight FOR them!

Let Him fight for you too.

Whatever journey you’ve been on, although weary to the point of caving, folding, disobeying… Let Him fight FOR you.  His arm is never too short (Num 11:23).

Moses reminds them again:

Do not be afraid of the nations there, for the Lord your God will fight for you.” ~Deuteronomy 3:22

He will fight for you dear friend.  In your weariness, in your despair, in your overwhelm… Let Him fight.

My health may fail, and my spirit may grown weak, but God remains the strength of my heart; he is mine forever. ~Psalm 73:26

Rachel Signature2

7 thoughts on “Let Him Fight

  1. LOVE this. 2012-2013 has been the HARDEST year of my life. Lots of battles. Lots of white flags flying. It’s so hard to remember to let Him fight for you. Thank you for the reminder.

  2. Yes, but HOW do you let Him fight for you? You still have to get up and carry on, even when all you want to do is stay in bed and give up, if only for the day. If someone could givee a step ny step on how to do this, that would be great.

    • Kelly– you are sooooo right! You do have to get up and carry on, absolutely! God usually doesn’t act by magically making things disappear or putting a million dollars in our laps. 🙂 You are so right in that we have to keep going and moving. Letting God fight for us, in my opinion, looks so different for each person! There are some absolutes, like loving our spouse/neighbor/friend, being generous, forgiving, being honest in love, praying without ceasing, providing for our families… When I’m not sure how God will fight or what I’m supposed to do, I look to what is right in front of me and do that. That will look different for everyone… But it’s a start… When it’s all just so overwhelming and I can’t seem to hold it together and put forth the effort, I will do the thing in front of me even as small as it may be (like getting out of bed and making breakfast for my 1 year old). And then I pray one day I can see how God is working even through the small acts of obedience. I’m sorry if this is vague; I know it’s just my interpretation of how to let God fight and it will look different from person to person!

  3. This impacted me more than you will ever know. I know God is fighting for me, but I have yet to see the results. This fight has been raging for 37 years and it continues daily. I have done everything I know how. I have given it to God and yet it the war continues. I know we should never question, but sometimes you can’t help it. I am drowning. The mountain is too high. I am outflanked and I feel the battle is a terrible loss.

Share Your Thoughts

