When the Plot Thickens

20140501-085405.jpg

Sometimes, when God is writing the storyline of your life, He throws a twist in the plot so thick you can barely see through it.  The ending you thought was destined to happen suddenly seems impossible and it feels as if the only certainty is surprise.  There He goes, thickening the plot and shaking things up!

I’ve always been one to raise my hand for adventure…  But this?  This was supposed to be where I’d live my happy ending!

I guess He writes better stories anyway so I should just trust Him already.  I mean He did part a couple of seas, feed thousands of people from nothing, create a whole universe with the breath of his voice, close the mouths of lions, took a magic hand and wrote on a wall…  Yeah, he’s pretty much got it when it comes to writing stories.

Still, I wonder.

How will you write this into my story, Lord?  Don’t forget about me!

On Monday the rumors were confirmed as true.  The company my husband works for is relocating their North American corporate sales and marketing headquarters to TEXAS.  While it really has no impact on us right now since he works for a regional field office, our sure bet of “all roads lead back to California” folded.  It now appears as though all roads lead to Plano, Texas!

How the heck are we supposed to get back to California now?!

Yes, I realize that it’s just a job.  One can quit a job and get another and all that.  But that is easier said than done, and his job is not one he’d easily walk away from.

As I was taking Maya for a walk that day, I felt a strange sense of ease.  Calmness.  It was almost as if relief swept over me.  I could not understand this for the life of me, since missing California is what I’ve been bitching about ever since we moved here.  But there in the parking lot of CVS with my bag of clearance Easter jelly beans I realized God knows and God’s got this.  My get out of jail free card is gone and it’s as if God was the one to throw it out the window.  No more holding onto that card waiting for the perfect time to use it.  He says “I’ve got this, I’m the author and the perfecter and my grace is sufficient.”

Will I let Him keep writing, or take back the pen?

If I trust that God is marching ahead (Judges 4:14) I’ve got to believe this turn of events is purely part of the story.  I must lay this at his feet and leave it there, believing He knows.

And so the plot thickens…  But what good story doesn’t?  May I give Him back the pen that is already His to begin with and wait with expectation.

Rachel Signature

 

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “When the Plot Thickens

  1. So true. I just had about 6 different curve balls in my life plan thrown at me in the last 24 hours, and I strangely enough didn’t panic about them..well, mostly anyway lol. We say “trust in the Lord” and “God is able” like catchphrases, but sometimes it’s so hard to make that applicable to our own lives! Stay strong girl…and not that I’m based or anything, but if that should be the path y’all take, that part of Texas is pretty rad 😉

  2. I hear you, and I’m living in God’s plot twist right now too. Mike Wilkerson spoke to me directly in his book “Redemption” when he said…: “Here’s what’s surprising about making sense of your life in God’s story: the story is not about you – it’s about Him. He is both the author and the main character and He has written you into His story to say something about Him!”
    Looking forward to hearing how the story turns out in your life. 🙂

    • Hi Shari! It’s humbling to realize that we are really just minor characters in his really big story. So much of the time I am so focused on me, me me! Maybe someday I’ll learn 🙂

  3. I am living in God’s plot twist and have been for the last 8 years, I have grown weary and oh so tired! I have given it up and laid it at his feet and he seems to be hiding.

    • I’m so sorry Kelly! I know how you feel, I really do. I have been there before. It is exhausting and lonely when you feel as though He’s not even in your situation anymore. I totally get that! Somehow, He will provide. I will pray that you will see a glimpse of Him at work, however small it may be, that may encourage you to keep going! He will provide just as he did for Esther, Moses, Gideon, Daniel, and the countless of others who had hopeless endings if it weren’t for our mighty God. Keep it up! I’ll be praying for you!

  4. You will LooOVE North Texas. My husband is from So.Ca. and we’ve been in Flower Mound, Tx. over 5 years. Seriously you’ll love it here. Everything’s bigger and better in Texas and Ca. is just one flight away. When your moved and settled in ~then let’s have coffee.

    • Everything I’ve heard about Texas is wonderful! I’m sure if we move there one day I will love it, and if/when that happens I’d love to have coffee! 🙂

  5. What a beautiful metaphor for the sometimes abrupt changes in life. I had a major illness that led me to that part of the country from the west, and through that journey I met my husband and gained a beautiful step-daughter. We tried over and over to get back to the west but God’s plot twist led us to Dallas. Texas. And although it hasn’t been easy and I still long for other places, the blessings have been immense, and I can’t wait to see what God has up his sleeve next!

  6. This was so good! Thank you for writing a post I NEEDED. I’m walking through some similar struggles, so it’s nice to know I’m not alone! Just recently came across your blog and love it so far.

  7. I know what you mean Rach! I’m still waiting for him to send me back to the States, permanently….I guess a visit will do. Trust in the Lord.

    • Oh the states would LOVE to have you back Taryn!!! I can’t wait until your visit in August! It’s so hard to be patient. I feel you on that one!

  8. I love this! It’s exactly how my life seems to be playing out. I’m FROM Texas, a suburb right outside Dallas and just south of Plano. But God has my husband and me in DC…i.n.d.e.f.i.n.i.t.e.l.y. I find myself regularly asking, “How will you write this into my story, Lord?” – It’s not just about where we’re living, but everything that is impacted by our current location (finances, friends, distance from family, future dreams…). I’m slowly learning to let Him be the sole author, since He’s proven Himself to be the best and it’s really His story anyway. But that release of control of my life requires that I trust Him with a reckless abandon. Thank you and Krista for writing – we’ve never met, but my life (or the lessons I’m learning) seem to mirror both of yours – and it’s such an encouragement to me.

    • Stephanie– the reckless abandon part you mentioned is so dead on and also the part that I have the hardest time with! I often feel like I lay something at his feet only to pick it up again a million times within the same hour :-). It’s so hard to just leave it there isn’t it?! It totally sounds like we are living many of the same things and it’s a blessing to know we can encourage each other!

Share Your Thoughts

