A Reminder For Those Weary Days

photo (2) - Copy

I look up to the mountains

Does my help come from there?

My help comes from the Lord,

Who made heaven and earth!

He will not let you stumble;

the one who watches over you will not slumber.

Indeed, he who watches over Israel

never slumbers or sleeps.

The Lord himself watches over you!

The Lord stands beside you as your protective shade. 

The sun will not harm you by day

nor the moon at night.

The Lord keeps you from all harm

and watches over your life.

The Lord keeps watch over you as you come and go,

both now and forever.

~Psalm 121 (NLT)

I read this yesterday and was instantly reminded of A.W. Tozer’s glorious words that always provide me perspective on even the weariest of days:  “We are often hindered from giving up our treasures to the Lord out of fear for their safety; this is especially true when those treasures are loved relatives and friends.  Everything is safe which we commit to Him, and nothing is really safe which is not so committed.” (Tozer, p. 19-20, The Pursuit of God)

We are safe, friends.  Everything.  Everyone.  Commit it to the Lord and it will succeed (prov 16:3) and rest in the knowledge that he does not even sleep in his care for us.   Tozer says again “God is here.  Wherever we are, God is here.  There is no place, there can be no place, where He is not.” (p. 36)  Can I get a hallelujah?!

May we be reminded, even on the weariest of days, that he keeps watch over us as we come and go, both now and forever. (Psalm 121:8)

Rachel Signature2

6 thoughts on “A Reminder For Those Weary Days

  1. Thank you Rachel! Especially today. I have received a negative diagnosis, I have negative symptoms, and I rest ONLY in my Lord! I ask your prayers as we travel this journey. ❤

    • My heart goes out to you Karen! I will pray today that you would lean into His strength, find peace in His purposes, and rest in His promises to care for you! It is hard on the weary days to believe these truths, yet they are truths never the less! Blessings and healing on you sweet friend!

      • Thank you so much! I’m leaning hard into His Grace and Presence and Peace. He is more than enough. Even when it’s hard to believe.

  2. Pingback: It’s Time | Urban Hallelujah

  3. Pingback: Two Sides of the Same Coin | Urban Hallelujah

Share Your Thoughts

