For Your Friday: 3 Things

When you’ve experienced a bat in the house and the very next day a flood that totals your car, you begin to wonder if perhaps you are beginning to go through a modern day version of Moses and the 10 plagues.  Dramatic, you say?  Maybe.  But I seriously thought I was under attack.

My devotional yesterday read this:

Stop worrying long enough to hear My voice.  I speak softly to you, in the depth of your being.  Your mind shuttles back and forth, hither and yon, weaving webs of anxious confusion.  As My thoughts wrise up within you, they become entangled in those sticky webs of worry.  Thus, My voice is muffled, and you hear only “white noise”. ~Jesus Calling, by Sarah Young

But then this week happened, and although it was a CRAZY week (and it’s still not over!) with VBS at church and a couple interesting phone calls and a disappointing one too– I felt alive.  When I came through the door, exhausted after chasing around 30+ kids for four hours and finally put Maya down for a nap, I sat down to get rid of the “white noise”.  Given everything that’s gone on over the last week, I was in desperate need of centering myself around His purpose, His truth, His timing– just HIM.  No TV, no music, no computer… Just me and Him.

And you know what is so crazy amazing about the God we serve?

Just when I really needed Him, He met me right there in His word.

But why am I even the least bit surprised?!

That’s just who He is.  Amen?! 🙂

As I sat in that comfy chair in the 90 degree heat of that July afternoon, I was refreshed in a way I can’t explain.  It was as if He gave me three things, one after the other, to remind me of who He is and how I am to pray.

1.  Ask for WISDOM.

James 1:5 says “If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him.”

All we have to do is ask.  He is generous with his portions. ‘Nuf said! 🙂

2.  Make Your will plain to us, Lord!

Psalm 5:8 says “Make your way plain for me to follow.”  God does not complicate things to the point where we are putting together one of those million pieces jigsaw puzzles in order to figure out what to do.  On the contrary, rather, we serve a God who is clear and orderly.  Like David, I ask that God would make his will simple for me to understand, grasp, and follow.

3.  Be with us in all we do.

Jabez was just a guy in 1 Chronicles that was part of the descendant lineup of Judah (aka a reeeaaallly boring part of scripture to read) but then suddenly we get to Jabez and there’s a short little story on the guy.  Apparently he prayed, “Oh, that you would bless me and expand my territory! Please be with me in all that I do, and keep me from all trouble and pain! And God granted him his request” (1 Chronicles 4:10).

I want the God of the universe with me in all that I do, don’t you?

So as I head into the weekend, I hope I will be faithful in asking for wisdom, for His will to be plain to me, and that He would be with me in all I do.  Three things for my Friday, and hopefully Lord willing, my every day.  I pray the Lord would give these to you too!

Happy Friday everyone!

Rachel Signature2

 

6 thoughts on “For Your Friday: 3 Things

  1. My husband and I made a decision last night that is going to greatly affect our two teenagers. We went to bed and I was just so very restless, so I got up and ran to God through His Word and prayer. Graciously, He met me in the last couple chapters of Job and a couple of chapters of Psalms…reminding me how great He is, how’s involved in the details of our family life He is, and how very much He loves our (His) teenage daughters! He gave us the wisdom to make this decision, he made His will in this situation plain to us, and now we will trust Him to be with us and our girls in all that ensues! Thanks for this timely post!

    • I know God is going to meet you right in the midst of your challenging decisions, I can already see that He’s doing so! May you continue to see Him throughout the process! What an encouragement you are to me! 🙂

  2. Amen!!! First of all, thank you Rachel (and Krista) for your words and insights in Urban Halleujah–I can’t wait to read these ‘little gifts’ when I get an email from you! I too read Jesus Calling as my daily devotional. It is so amazing how God can speak to each of us, specific to our own unique daily needs, through the same devotional! I love the “white noise” reference. It is so true–when the white noise is the loudest, that is when I need to get quiet the most and turn to God to calm the chaos of life. “Be still and know that I am God”…there I am wrapped in His blanket of love and can ‘relax in His peaceful presence’. Have a great weekend!

Share Your Thoughts

