Something New

I am the Lord, who opened a way through the waters, making a dry path through the sea.  I called forth the mighty army of Egypt with all its chariots and horses.  I drew them beneath the waves, and they drowned, their lives snuffed out like a smoldering candlewick.

But forget all that– it is nothing compared to what I am going to do.  For I am about to do something new.

See, I have already begun!  Do you not see it?

I have made a pathway through the wilderness.  I will create rivers in the dry wasteland…

Yes, I will make rivers in the dry wasteland so my chosen people can be refreshed.”

~Isaiah 43:16-20

Perhaps, as this new season enfolds while the air gets chillier and the leaves reveal their splendid colors, perhaps the Lord is doing something new with us.  Maybe He is doing something brand new, not things of the past (Isaiah 48:6).  May we have the courage and the discipline to open our eyes wide and our attune our ears to hear where He is calling each of us.  And how different to each of us our calling is!  To one, the littles running around feet; to another the demands of the office; and yet another the care of an aging parent or a sick child.  Where everything is the same, there He is– may we look up and see where He is doing something new…  In us.

Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in Him.  Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong.  And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how  high, and how deep his love is.  May you experience the love of Christ though it is too great to understand.” ~Ephesians 3:17-19

Rachel Signature2

2 thoughts on “Something New

  1. I am studying Isaiah, now. I have been in it for a few months and am at chapter 10. It ha been an incredible insight into how the Lord makes us ready to meet Him. This verse you are honed in on is especially cool. It says that God making a dry place is nothing compared to Him making a wet place. It says that to create an area where life can thrive is everything, where as a watery grave is nothing in comparison. Anything you want prayer for, let me know, there is a powerful prayer circle I get he honor of attending from time to time.

Share Your Thoughts

