Twice the Fun

Things are about to get CRAZY around here.

Yes, I know.  My life is already CRAZY.  My husband has a crazy-busy (and yet wonderful and awesome) job, my two and a half year old tells me she needs her “personal space”, and I work full time from home.  Even so, my life is going to get even crazier.

Times TWO!

I had no idea.  Twins do not run in my family.  Other than feeling slightly more tired and nauseous than I had with Maya, everything seemed to be the same.  Yet when the ultrasound tech put up a peace sign (yes, I really did think she was telling me “peace!”  That’s how outrageous the idea of two babies would be for me!), I did not believe it.  “You guys hit the jackpot!” She exclaimed, and I had no idea what she meant.

When she showed me the two pulsating heartbeats on the screen complete with two separate sacs and two separate embryos, I was in disbelief.  Two?!  Oh Lord what the heck?!

My husband, being the calm, non-reactive one, just stared calmly at the screen.  He was more interested in understanding how this happened and what kind of twins we would be having (they’re fraternal, by the way). I began crying and then laughing and then crying and then laughing.  This was not in our plan ever.  How am I going to have twins?! I kept thinking to myself.

We had no idea.  There is no family history of twins in the family, and I’ve never been on any fertility treatments.  Talk about getting a real two-for-one special!

We have to move.  Our two bedroom is too tiny for a family of 5!

I will need a larger car (wait for it… A minivan most likely!  My 20 year old self would seriously die.  A slow. Painful. Death.).

How am I going to do this without my mom living nearby?

How is my body going to house TWO tiny humans for the next 6 months?

How will I be able to provide enough love and attention to two babies, a toddler and my husband?!

I can’t even begin to answer all these questions, but  there is one thing I’m holding on to and that is HE KNOWS.  HE will provide.  HE will make it happen.  HE will see us through.  HE is the giver of all things through HIM I can do all things.

The shock has worn off now, and I am excited at the thought that our family will be bigger than I ever hoped or imagined (ohhhhh God is funny how he works!).  I’m reading a book on multiples given to me by a friend.  I’ve switched doctors to go with someone who’s specialized in multiple births.  I’m praying for a continual healthy pregnancy and that God’s protection and hand would be over these babies.  I have no idea how I’m going to do it but I know He’s faithful and He will work it all out.  What He’s called us to, He will walk us through… Amen?

So now my toddler is painting her nails with white-out and currently has scissors in her hands.  I best be on my way.

Thank you for sharing this journey with me. 🙂

 

 

12 thoughts on “Twice the Fun

  1. My dearest Rachel, I can’t even begin to tell you how excited I am for you! The people I share my excitement with are excited for you and are praying for you as well. I know you know God is with you, you have already said it in your post; but Rachel, He REALLY IS and He is not only walking with you He is holding you AND your family. He is so please with you and the job you are doing with Maya and David that He has given you two! He KNOWS and trusts that you and David are up to the task and will raise all of your babies to “know, love, and serve” Him. God bless you my beautiful, special niece! So many hugs and kisses to you all!

  2. So happy for you…CONGRATULATIONS! So thankful our Heavenly Father will provide all you need emotionally, physically, financially, and spiritually as you walk through this new journey!

  3. With God, all things are possible!! We have twin boys who are 2 and are expecting our third in July. Twins are such a joy and you will do great with them. Many blessings to you!!

  4. Rachel! I was just catching up on your blog and I can’t believe it! Congrats! And just when you thought you knew what you were doing, things go all tipsy-turvy. I hate that and love that about life all at the same time…. So humbling! Good luck with everything.

Share Your Thoughts

