Good Friday, Through the Eyes of a 2 Year Old

04032015

“Will Jesus protect me?  Is Jesus here with me??”  She sits up in the bed every single night and asks the same question.  Only until I reassure her that Jesus is always here with us will she lay back down and snuggle in for the night.  “If you get scared, just say Jesus.  He is right here with you.”  I tell her, and she gets comfy and closes her eyes.

Oh to have faith like a little child.  Lord let me learn from my daughter and have faith like her!

Putting her to sleep last night, I told her that tomorrow was Good Friday.  We would color eggs and remember what Jesus did for us.

“Good Friday?” she asked, looking at me with that 2 year old inquisitive look as if I needed to explain immediately.  “What’s good friday?”

“Good Friday is when Jesus died for us baby,” I replied, and she immediately looked at me with horror.  Snuggling under the covers, she said she needed to talk about it.  Tell me the story, she said.

So I told her how there were mean men who didn’t believe how good Jesus was.  They didn’t believe He was God’s son, didn’t know that Jesus loved them so much.  They wanted to kill him.  They made a cross, took nails and hammers and nailed Jesus’ hands and feet to the cross.  It hurt.  Jesus cried.  And he died on Good Friday.

She stared at me like this was the worst, most morbid thing she had ever heard.  Her little eyes, the corners of her mouth- everything about her face told me she didn’t understand.  How could Jesus, who was with her every night– die?!

“But the good thing about Good Friday is that He didn’t stay dead!  Three days later, on Easter, we celebrate that Jesus rose from the dead!  He wasn’t dead anymore.  He’s alive, Maya!  He’s in heaven, and He’s here.  He’s always with us.  He died so that we could live with Him forever. He’s not dead anymore.  On Good Friday we remember that He had to die so we could be with Him, and on Easter we celebrate that He’s alive.”

She smiled.  “And He’s here with us in our hearts!”  She exclaimed.

Suddenly satisfied with the end of the story, she was okay and ready to go to sleep.  She didn’t even ask me if Jesus would protect her or was there with her that night, because I think she already knew.

She might just be at my favorite stage yet (although each stage I’ve said that so it’s likely her entire life will be my favorite stage!).  A ball of snuggles, a blanket (gabby!) and her thumb.   She’s a little piece of heaven on earth and I literally can’t handle it sometimes!  On nights like this when her little faith heart is so big and receptive, I realize how much responsibility I have as a parent to guide and cultivate her heart towards Jesus.  It is overwhelming at times.  I pray I will have the words and the actions and the heart to reflect a piece of what Jesus is, and that nothing would hinder her from coming towards Him when He tugs at her heart and calls her to Him.

Happy Good Friday friends!  May we take time to remember the somberness of today, the goodness today, the hope of tomorrow and the security of our future because of what He did for us!

Rachel Signature2

6 thoughts on “Good Friday, Through the Eyes of a 2 Year Old

  1. Thank you so much.  We are sharing this with all at Easter.  We love youand wish you were here with us.  Have a very blessed and wonderfulEaster.

Share Your Thoughts

