What Is It Jesus?

Every night, the same thing.

After stories, we snuggle under the covers and say the same prayer we’ve been saying since she was a baby.

Lately, she’s been asking me what certain things mean in her prayer.  “We pray that you would call her, and nothing would hinder her from coming.”  She interrupts me and asks “what’s call and hinder and coming?  What’s that mean mama?”  She sucks her thumb and looks up at me ready for an explanation.

“Well…”  I begin, trailing off, trying to find the simplest way to explain this to my almost three-year-old.

“Jesus can speak to us, He can call us.  Just like mama tells you things, Jesus can tell you things too,” I say.

“But I don’t hear him.  What’s he saying?” She asks, so matter of factly.

“I don’t hear Him with my ears either, ” I tell her honestly.  “But He speaks to our hearts.  He calls our hearts and tells us things, things that we don’t hear with our ears.  Our heart can feel Him and we know He’s telling us something.  When we feel Him calling our heart, we need to stop and listen!  If He’s asking us to do something, we need to obey immediately.  That’s why I pray that nothing would hinder you from coming.  I want you to hear His voice when He calls your heart and I want you to listen to Him!”

She pauses, sits up and looks up at the ceiling.  “What is it Jesus?” she asks.  “Oh?  You want me to lay down?  Okay.”

Satisfied she asks me to finish praying and we snuggle back in, finish praying and give kisses goodnight.

As I’m closing her door, the sweet innocence and faith of a little not yet 3 year old is tugging at my own heart and begging me to ask the same.  What is it Jesus?  What is it?

So many days I am telling Jesus what I want, what I need, what I hope for.  All good things, yes,  How often do I just sit there and ask what is it?

So many days I am waiting on the thing, not waiting on Him.

What is it Jesus?

The hours and hours pouring before him the things I want, not asking what He wants.

What is it Jesus?

The simple heart of little toddler gets it immediately.

What is it Jesus?

I see more and more why Jesus tells the disciples to be like little children (Matthew 18:13, Luke 18:16) as I watch my little girl’s heart grow.  While there is still so much for her to learn, there is so much she has learned already.

What is it Jesus?  What is it you want from me today?  What is it You’re revealing to me today?  What is it you want to teach me today?  

Let me be like my little girl and simplify what I often complicate.  Let me just ask what is it Jesus?  May nothing hinder me from coming!  A prayer for my little babe, and a prayer for me… For always, as I will surely learn this time and time again. 🙂

Rachel Signature

4 thoughts on “What Is It Jesus?

  1. So many times we forget that faith doesn’t have to be as complex as we make it! My best friends kids minister to me that way so often, I love their simple faith in me and in life and I pray the way they understand the Lord right now is how it always will be. Your daughter is certainly in good hands! 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

