Nothing Left to Do But Everything

“In my best moments, when I calm down and listen very closely, God says “I didn’t ask you to become new and improved today.  That wasn’t the goal.  You were broken down and strange yesterday, and you still are today, and the only one freaked out about it is you.” ~Shauna Niequist, Savor

32 weeks pregnant with twins this week.  Not sure I am ready for three kids three and under, but God is.

Packing to move around the same time the babies will most likely arrive…  Don’t know how that’s going to all work out but God does.

So many loose ends to tie together like pre-school paperwork, getting the hospital bag ready, laundry, meals, cleaning, all while working and trying NOT to let my toddler watch tv all day.  I fail constantly at keeping up but God’s got this.

All the stress of buying a house, but God shows up.  Time and time again He just swoops in.

Over the last year, I have been constantly reminded that sometimes we need to step back and let God do His thing.  We’ve got to trust that He’s over everything, even the small details of our lives, and let Him work.  When I found out we were expecting two babies instead of one, I held on to the truth that God knows.  He knows and works all things for His glory.  We get to be a part of the story, but it’s all His story.

I couldn’t do anything but let Him do everything.

He knows, He’s doing things, He is in the process– He will be part of the result.

My husband is in Portland, Oregon, clear across the country right now for a wedding he’s in.  The plane ticket was purchased way before we knew twins were on the horizon.  This morning panic overtook me for a moment while thoughts spun.  What if they come early?!  What if I’m alone in an operating room having my first c-section and my husband isn’t here?!  What if for some horrific reason I have to deliver them at home all alone with MAYA omg that would be awful that can’t happen… Do you see where my thoughts went?  Then God swoops in again.  It’s His story, I’m just part of it.  I calm down, try NOT to think of Mary delivering Jesus in a BARN (can you even imagine what she was thinking and feeling?!) and rest knowing I can’t do anything but let Him do everything.

God knows.

God does.

God is.

God will be.

He’s the only constant in this crazy mess, and He’s not asking for anything from me right now.  He just needs me to stop freaking out as Shauna says in the quote above, and let him do His thing.

Rachel Signature

6 thoughts on “Nothing Left to Do But Everything

  1. Your posts are such an encouragement to me, Rachel! I am currently going through a very difficult situation in the ministry I am a part of and am clinging to my God Who is for me and will work for His glory! This post is exactly what I needed to read today as I head into a meeting this afternoon that could affect my future. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

  2. Oh my gosh you’re so cute. I’m glad I’m not the only one who comes up with crazy scenerios in my head! But regardless God’s got this and no matter what, he’ll make a story out of it that brings him glory. Praying for you girl!

  3. It sounds like you have found a friend you can identify with, the mother of Jesus. I also identify with as my heavenly mother, and ask her t intercede for with her son. It so good that you are putting your concerns in the Lord’s hands. We will also pray that the babies will wait until the correct time to e born.

  4. Rachel, you seem to be able to be still and know God. He truly is with you even if you are not still in thoughts or actions. He loves you and your family and is rejoicing in the lives you are bringing into this world. Our prayers are with you, Maya, and David as God works His plan. We hope you can make it to wk.34!!! We love you.

  5. Rachel, as busy as you are, you still take time to blog and it ALWAYS touches my life. God has gifted you with the ability to reach many with His word! Thank you for sharing your heart, life, and Faith with us as you spread God’s love!

    DEB Sent from my iPhone

Share Your Thoughts

