What Mary, Noah and Abram Are Teaching Me About My 2016

_MG_1468

Happy new year friends!

2015 ended and 2016 started with the same word pressed into my heart:

Obey.

Christmas came, the presents swimming under our tree and yet Mary’s words from Luke 1 simmered in my my mind and heart while we prepared for the holiday.

Even Eizabeth your relative is going to have a child in her old age, ad she who was said to be barren is in her sixth month.  For nothing is impossible with God.

“I am the Lord’s servant,” Mary answered.  “May it be to me as you have said.”

Then the angel left her.

~Luke 1:36-38, NIV

May it Be.

She obeyed without so much as a word of question or complaint!  I feel God whispering to me to Let Him Be in my little life.

Then not a week later, I see Noah obey with reckless abandon as he prepared to build a boat in a desert with no sign of a storm because God said so.

“Thus Noah did, according to all that God commanded him, so he did.”

~Genesis 6:22, NASB

So he did.

Not even a why, when, how, or what about… slipped from Noah’s lips.  We are simply told that he did.  He obeyed right away!

We recently found out that friends of ours are moving, without a job or clear idea of what they’re supposed to do.  God said MOVE, so they are doing so in obedience!  Just as God called Abram to “leave your country, your people and your father’s household and go to the land I will show you” (Genesis 12:1, NIV) they are Letting Him Be over their lives and DOING what He’s called them to.  What strength.  What courage.  What faith!

Go.

As 2016 begins, may I find myself leaning into God’s word, willing to let him be and to do what He says when he says it.  May I go when he says when.  May I have the courage to obey, right away.

Happy New Year!

Rachel Signature

 

Share Your Thoughts

